National Philharmonic: Music That Inspires

Sunday, February 28, 2021, 2pm


National Philharmonic Presents:
Music That Inspires
Streamed Concert

What is art, and how does it come into being? How is all art connected, and what does it have to do with being intrinsically human? In this concert, the compositions speak to the interconnectedness of visual and aural art, and how the two often combine to create something more than the sum of their parts. Composer Barbara York finds inspiration from the paintings of Grant Wood. Saint-Saëns’s Danse Macabre takes its origin from illustrated sermon texts. It is hoped that this performance will lead audience members to new acts of artistry, whatever form that may take, because there is art in everything.

Laura Colgate, violin
Elizabeth Hill, piano
Willie Clark, tuba
Cheryl Hill, clarinet

Robert Schumann, Fantasiestücke for clarinet and piano 

  1. Zart und mit Ausdruck
  2. Lebhaft, leicht 
  3. Rasch und mit Feuer  

Camille Saint-Saens, Danse Macabre, Op. 40
Barbara York, Four Paintings by Grant Wood 

  1. Stone City, Iowa 
  2. Young Corn
  3. American Gothic 
  4. Parson Weem's Fable

Florence Price, Adoration arranged by Elaine Fine for violin and piano

This concert is not presented by Strathmore


Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.