Saturday, February 22, 2020, 8pm

The Music Center

National Philharmonic
Black Pioneers in Classical Music

Pre-concert lecture 6:45pm

Melissa White, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Wynton Marsalis     Wild Strumming of Fiddle (from All Rise)
Florence Price          Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major
George Walker         Lyric for Strings
William Grant Still    Symphony No. 1 ("Afro-American")

Piotr Gajewski conducts the National Philharmonic in this tribute to Black Composers in Classical Music featuring compositions by Wynton Marsalis, Florence Price, George Walker and William Grant Still. Joining the National Philharmonic is Melissa White, violinist, Sphinx Competition winner and founding member of the Harlem Quartet. Come hear why The Cincinnati Enquirer says that Melissa White is “bringing a new attitude to classical music, one that is fresh, bracing and intelligent.”


Sponsored by Patricia Haywood Moore & Roscoe M. Moore Jr.

Kids 7-17 Free

Support the National Philharmonic
Donations to support the National Philharmonic can be made here. Thank you for your gift!

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Melissa White