BSO: Appalachian Spring

Thursday, March 14, 2019, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Appalachian Spring

Marin Alsop, conductor
Valentina Peleggi, conductor
University of Maryland Concert Choir,
Edward Maclary, Director

ROXANNA PANUFNIK (World Premiere, BSO Commission)                     
COPLAND Appalachian Spring                                                                     
BERNSTEIN Chichester Psalms                                                                  
VILLA-LOBOS Chôros No. 10                                                           

Marin Alsop conducts the world premiere of a BSO commission for orchestra and chorus by popular British composer Roxanna Panufnik. The chorus is also featured in Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, which includes one of his most haunting melodies, and Villa-Lobos’ Chôros No. 10, a colorful and rhythmically propulsive work inspired by popular Brazilian music. Copland’s Appalachian Spring, created as ballet music for Martha Graham, remains one of the most beloved expressions of the American spirit.

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.


Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.