Strathmore Sign In eMail Page Printable Page
Gift Certificates
Facility Rentals
Contact Us
Resident Partners
Search Our Site

National Philharmonic: Sounds of Central Europe
Saturday, January 4, 2014 at 8:00 PM
Music Center at Strathmore

Back to Calendar
Group Tickets Call (301) 581-5199
Accessible Seating Call (301) 581-5100

This performance will also be held on:
Sunday, January 5, 2014 at 3:00 PM

Nurit Bar-Josef, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

The Serenade for Strings by DvorŠk, the great Czech nationalist composer, is laden with rich sonorities and hauntingly beautiful melodies suffused with the spirit of Czech folk music. Performed by Nurit Bar-Josef, concertmaster of the National Symphony Orchestra, Mozartís Violin Concerto No. 5, often referred to by the nickname Turkish, is full of energetic and lively melodies. Symphony No. 29, one of Mozartís early symphonies, is a very personal work that combines intimate chamber music style with a fiery and impulsive manner.

A free pre-concert lecture will be offered in the Concert Hall at 6:45PM on January 4 as well as at 1:45PM on January 5.


Serenade for Strings
Violin Concerto No. 5
Symphony No. 29

Sponsored by Ameriprise Financial

Kids age 7-17 are free. Please call the Strathmore Ticket Office directly at (301) 581-5100 to purchase Kids free tickets. Kids free tickets are not available for online purchase.

Single tickets starting at $28.

home | about strathmore | events & tickets | fine art & exhibitions | plan your visit | support | help & faq | privacy policy | contact us | site map
© 2015 Strathmore. All Rights Reserved.
Strathmore Help & FAQ View My Order Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map BSO at Strathmore Founding Partner National Philharmonic Washington Performing Arts Levine Music CityDance Ensemble Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras InterPLAY