ASO: Beethoven's Emperor Concerto

Annapolis Symphony Orchestra presents

Beethoven's Emperor Concerto


Sun, February 5, 2023 | 3pm

$29 - $69

ASO Pianist Jon Nakamatsu

The Music Center at Strathmore


Valerie Coleman, Seven O’Clock Shout

Ludwig van Beethoven, Concerto for Piano No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73 “Emperor”

Jon Nakamatsu, piano

Juan Crisóstomo, Arriaga Overture to Los Esclavos Felices

Dmitri Shostakovich, Symphony No. 1 in F minor, op. 10

Inspired by the evening serenades amidst pandemic isolation, Seven O’Clock Shout reminds us of the sacrifices of heroes. Celebrated pianist Jon Nakamatsu is featured in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5. Though it is a concerto, its scope is symphonic; a novel innovation for the time and remains the best known and most frequently performed of Beethoven’s five piano concertos. Arriaga’s opera tells the story of plucky Spanish nobles captured as slaves in Africa who find their way to freedom. 18-year-old Shostakovich burst onto the international music scene with his first Symphony, written to fulfill his graduation requirements from the Leningrad Conservatory. We can recognize the unmistakable personal voice that would become his signature.

If you would like to purchase a subscription to all three Annapolis Symphony Orchestra concerts at Strathmore Music Center this season, click here.

This event is not presented by Strathmore. 

Strathmore is Global Biorisk Advisory Council® STAR™ accredited. Learn more.