Afternoon Tea

The soothing sounds of local musicians fill the room, as you enjoy Afternoon Tea in the cozy atmosphere of The Shapiro Music Room at Strathmore.

Strathmore Blend Tea is specially made for us by Master Tea Blender John Harney of Connecticut, and is served with a light lunch of delectable tea savories.

Afternoon Teas: $25 per person (Stars Price $22.50)
Specialty Teas: $29 per person (Stars Price $26.10)

Tea begins at 1pm

 

Call 301.581.5108 for reservations. Pre-paid, non-refundable reservations required.

Vegetarian options are available; please be sure to request a vegetarian meal when making your reservation.

Tea for Two gift certificates make great gifts! To purchase, call 301.581.5175 or visit the Shop at Strathmore located in the Mansion.

Strathmore celebrates 30 years of Afternoon Tea. Read more.

Tea

Select your tea from the below list, which notes the tea room performer(s) and whether reservations are open. To reserve your spot, call 301.581.5108.
Specialty teas are listed in bold.

 

Tuesday, March 19
SPECIALTY TEA: Downton Abbey Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
SOLD OUT
Debutantes and dowagers alike love our elegant Downton Abbey Teas.

Wednesday, March 20
SPECIALTY TEA: Downton Abbey Tea

Elizabeth Benforado, dulcimer and piano & Jay Benforado, guitar
SOLD OUT
Debutantes and dowagers alike love our elegant Downton Abbey Teas.

Tuesday, March 26
Meg Baker, harp & piano
SOLD OUT

Wednesday, March 27
SPECIALTY TEA: Greek Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
SOLD OUT
Opa! Enjoy Mediterranean-inspired cuisine and heart-warming songs from Greece. 

Tuesday, April 2
Fran Hrastar, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, April 3
SPECIALTY TEA: Maryland Day Tea

Noreen Friedman & Robin Schultz, flute duo
Special guest Miss Maryland

OPEN
Pass the Old Bay; it’s Maryland Day! Have a crab cake, hon, and a nice cup of tea.

Tuesday, April 9
SPECIALTY TEA: Japanese Tea

Washington Toho Koto Society
SOLD OUT
Celebrate DC’s springtime traditions of cherry blossoms, koto music, and Japanese tea.

Wednesday, April 10
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, April 16
SPECIALTY TEA: Eastern European Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
SOLD OUT
This unique tea features delicious dishes from Poland, Russia, Latvia, and Serbia.

Wednesday, April 17
John Dassoulas, piano
SOLD OUT

Tuesday, April 23
Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN

Wednesday, April 24
Jen Narkevicius, harp
OPEN

Tuesday, April 30
Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer & Paul Oorts, harp guitar
OPEN

Wednesday, May 1
SPECIALTY TEA: Mexican Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Soak up the vibrant flavors and sunny culture of Mexico in a delightful, tea-centric way.

Tuesday, May 7
SPECIALTY TEA: Israeli Tea
Noreen Friendman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN
Savor the flavor of Israel at this tea with your favorite foods and traditional music..

Wednesday, May 8
SPECIALTY TEA: Mother's Appreciation Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
SOLD OUT
Treat mom to tea and create moments you’ll always remember.  

Saturday, May 11
SPECIALTY TEA: Mother's Appreciation Tea

Elizabeth Benforado, dulcimer & Jay Benforado, guitar
SOLD OUT
Treat mom to tea and create moments you’ll always remember.

Tuesday, May 14
Carol Rose Duane, piano & harp
SOLD OUT

Wednesday, May 15
SPECIALTY TEA: Scottish Outlander Tea

Jo Morrison, harp & Wayne Morrison, bagpipes
OPEN
Indulge your inner outlander at this festive tea, complete with Highland fare and music.

Tuesday, May 21
MIN: Saïs Kamalidiin, flute & Rick Peralta, guitar
OPEN

Wednesday, May 22
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, May 28
SPECIALTY TEA: '50s Tea

Dave Almy, guitar; Hal Gearhart, vocals & Cheryl Gearhart, vocals
OPEN
Don your bobby sox for a `50s flashback set to tunes of Dean Martin, Elvis Presley, and more. 

Wednesday, May 29
SPECIALTY TEA: '50s Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Don your bobby sox for a `50s flashback set to tunes of Dean Martin, Elvis Presley, and more.

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.

$
$