Afternoon Tea

The soothing sounds of local musicians fill the room, as you enjoy Afternoon Tea in the cozy atmosphere of The Shapiro Music Room at Strathmore.

Strathmore Blend Tea is specially made for us by Master Tea Blender John Harney of Connecticut, and is served with a light lunch of delectable tea savories.

Afternoon Teas: $25 per person (Stars Price $22.50)
Specialty Teas: $29 per person (Stars Price $26.10)

Tea begins at 1pm

 

Call 301.581.5108 for reservations. Pre-paid, non-refundable reservations required.

Vegetarian options are available; please be sure to request a vegetarian meal when making your reservation.

Tea for Two gift certificates make great gifts! To purchase, call 301.581.5175 or visit the Shop at Strathmore located in the Mansion.

Strathmore celebrates 30 years of Afternoon Tea. Read more.

Tea

Select your tea from the below list, which notes the tea room performer(s) and whether reservations are open. To reserve your spot, call 301.581.5108.
Specialty teas are listed in bold.

 

Tuesday, September 18
SPECIALTY TEA: Broadway Tea

Mike Gold, piano
SOLD OUT
Start spreading the news about our Broadway teas with special cuisine and memorable show tunes…a production you won’t want to miss!  

Wednesday, September 19
SPECIALTY TEA: Broadway Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Start spreading the news about our Broadway teas with special cuisine and memorable show tunes…a production you won’t want to miss!  

Tuesday, September 25
SPECIALTY TEA: Chinese Tea

Lily Chang, piano
OPEN
Celebrate the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival with a delicious harvest feast and traditional Chinese music.  

Wednesday, September 26
SPECIALTY TEA: Chinese Tea

Deborah Chen & Judy Chen Hollander
OPEN
Celebrate the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival with a delicious harvest feast and traditional Chinese music.  

Saturday, September 29
SPECIALTY TEA: Italian Tea

The Rigatoni Brothers - Paul Oorts, mandolin & Jay Benforado, guitar
SOLD OUT
Spice up your September with authentic food and Italian songs by the Rigatoni Brothers Paul Oorts & Jay Benforado. That’s amore!  

Tuesday, October 2
Fran Hrastar, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, October 3
John Dassoulas, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, October 9
SPECIALTY TEA: German Tea

Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer & Paul Oorts, harp guitar and accordion
OPEN
Experience a Strathmore Oktoberfest with tasty German cuisine and music that will take you back to the old country.

Wednesday, October 10
MIN: Saïs Kamalidiin, flute & Rick Peralta, guitar
OPEN

Saturday, October 13
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, October 16
SPECIALTY TEA: Chocolate Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
A chocolate lover’s delight with delicious food, Strathmore blend and chocolate teas and a chocolate tasting provided by the The Perfect Truffle in Frederick, MD.  

Wednesday, October 17
SPECIALTY TEA: Chocolate Tea

Jo Morrison, harp & Wayne Morrison, bagpipes
OPEN
A chocolate lover’s delight with delicious food, Strathmore blend and chocolate teas and a chocolate tasting provided by the The Perfect Truffle in Frederick, MD.  

Tuesday, October 23
Carol Rose Duane, harp & piano
OPEN

Wednesday, October 24
SPECIALTY TEA: Scandinavian Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Enjoy traditional treats and beautiful tunes from Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden by Judith Mostyn White. 

Tuesday, October 30
Meg Baker, harp & piano
OPEN

Wednesday, October 31
SPECIALTY TEA: Haunted Tea Party

Noreen Friedman & Robin Schultz, flute duo
Special guest Rob Gutro, medium & ghost investigator

OPEN
Join us for our Halloween tea party with haunting music and ghoulish foods followed by real-life paranormal stories from medium Rob Gutro.      

Saturday, November 3
SPECIALTY TEA: Día de Muertos Tea

OPEN
Join us for a celebration of Día de Muertos featuring traditional food and music of the Mexican holiday.

Tuesday, November 6
Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN

Tuesday, November 13
SPECIALTY TEA: Harvest Tea - Songs of the Seasons

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Celebrate and early Thanksgiving with food and songs of the  season.

Wednesday, November 14
Sue Richards, harp
OPEN

Tuesday, November 27
SPECIALTY TEA: African Fashion Tea
Special guest Titi Oseni, fashion designer
OPEN
Join us for African Tea with festive food, tea and a taste for style. A showcase of one-of-a-kind African fashion by designer Titi Oseni. 

Wednesday, November 28
SPECIALTY TEA: Scottish Christmas Tea

Jo Morrison, harp & Wayne Morrison, bagpipes
SOLD OUT
Enjoy the holidays in a Scottish way with traditional food and music by Jo and Wayne Morrison. 

Monday, December 3
John Dasslous, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, December 4
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, December 5
Fran Hrastar, piano
OPEN

Monday, December 10
SPECIALTY TEA: Scandinavian Christmas Tea
Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Skoal—a toast to tradition, with tea and treats from Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden to brighten your Yuletide whether you’ve been Nordic or nice!

Tuesday, December 11
Noreen Friedman & Robyn Schultz, flute duo
OPEN

Wednesday, December 12
Meg Baker, harp and piano
OPEN

Saturday, December 15
SPECIALTY TEA: Mrs. Claus Tea

10:30am & 1pm seatings
OPEN
A holiday tradition to treasure forever! Share seasonal music, a child-friendly menu, story time with Mrs. Claus, and more sweet surprises.

Monday, December 17
SPECIALTY TEA: Charles Dickens Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Enjoy the Dickensian delights of an authentic Victorian holiday tea, with merry music, festive food, and a bright British sensibility that’s sure to raise your spirits.

Tuesday, December 18
Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer; Paul Oorts, harp guitar; Sophie Chang, cello
OPEN

Wednesday, December 19
SPECIALTY TEA: Charles Dickens Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Enjoy the Dickensian delights of an authentic Victorian holiday tea, with merry music, festive food, and a bright British sensibility that’s sure to raise your spirits.

Tuesday, February 5
Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer; Paul Oorts, harp guitar; Carrie Rose, flute
OPEN

Wednesday, February 6
SPECIALTY TEA: Chinese New Year Tea

Lily Chang, piano
OPEN

Saturday, February 9
SPECIALTY TEA: Valentine's Day Tea

Elizabeth Benforado, dulcimer & Jay Benforado, guitar
OPEN
Enjoy our romantic, relaxing tea—perfect for sharing with someone special.

Tuesday, February 12
SPECIALTY TEA: Valentine's Day Tea

Noreen Friedman & Robyn Schultz, flute duo
OPEN
Enjoy our romantic, relaxing tea—perfect for sharing with someone special.

Wednesday, February 13
SPECIALTY TEA: Valentine's Day Tea

Mike Gold, piano
OPEN
Enjoy our romantic, relaxing tea—perfect for sharing with someone special.

Tuesday, February 19
John Dassoulas, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, February 20
Rosalind Breslow, piano
OPEN

Saturday, February 23
Meg Baker, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, February 26
SPECIALTY TEA: South American Tea

Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN
Warm up your winter with a rich, flavorful menu plus the sultry sounds of South American music.

Wednesday, February 27
SPECIALTY TEA: South American Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Warm up your winter with a rich, flavorful menu plus the sultry sounds of South American music.

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.

$
$