Afternoon Tea

The soothing sounds of local musicians fill the room, as you enjoy Afternoon Tea in the cozy atmosphere of The Shapiro Music Room at Strathmore.

Strathmore Blend Tea is specially made for us by Master Tea Blender John Harney of Connecticut, and is served with a light lunch of delectable tea savories.

Afternoon Teas: $24 per person (Stars Price $21.60)
Specialty Teas: $28 per person (Stars Price $25.20)

Tea begins at 1pm

 

Call 301.581.5108 for reservations. Pre-paid, non-refundable reservations required.

Vegetarian options are available; please be sure to request a vegetarian meal when making your reservation.

Tea for Two gift certificates make great gifts! To purchase, call 301.581.5175 or visit the Shop at Strathmore located in the Mansion.

Strathmore celebrates 30 years of Afternoon Tea. Read more.

Tea

Select your tea from the below list, which notes the tea room performer(s) and whether reservations are open. To reserve your spot, call 301.581.5108.
Specialty teas are listed in bold.


Tuesday, February 6
Noreen Friedman & Robin Schultz, flute duo
SOLD OUT

Wednesday, February 7
Meg Baker, harp & piano
OPEN

Saturday, February 10
SPECIALTY TEA: Valentine's Day Tea
Susan Bour, flute; Phil Bour, guitar; Dave Almy, guitar & Cheryl Gearhart, vocals
SOLD OUT
A toast—with tea!—to love. Enjoy Valentine’s Day with our romantic, relaxing tea—perfect for sharing with someone special.

Tuesday, February 13
SPECIALTY TEA: Mardi Gras Tea

Brian Simms, piano
SOLD OUT
Laissez les bons temps rouler at this tea with live music by Junkyard Saints front man Brian Simms.

Wednesday, February 14
SPECIALTY TEA: Valentine's Day Tea

Mike Gold, piano
SOLD OUT
A toast—with tea!—to love. Enjoy Valentine’s Day with our romantic, relaxing tea—perfect for sharing with someone special.

Tuesday, February 20
Rosalind Breslow, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, February 21
SPECIALTY TEA: Greek Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Escape the cold with Mediterranean-inspired cuisine and heart-warming songs from Greece. 

Saturday, February 24
Robin Schultz, flute; Julianne Martinelli, flute & Jeff Burnett, guitar
OPEN

Tuesday, February 27
SPECIALTY TEA: South American Tea
Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN
Add warmth and color to your winter with a rich, flavorful menu plus the sultry sounds of South American music.

Wednesday, February 28
SPECIALTY TEA: South American Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Add warmth and color to your winter with a rich, flavorful menu plus the sultry sounds of South American music.

Tuesday, March 6
John Dassoulas, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, March 7
SPECIALTY TEA: International Tea
Noreen Friedman & Robin Schultz, flute duo
OPEN
Travel to faraway lands at our international tea featuring exotic brews, bites, and music.

Tuesday, March 13
SPECIALTY TEA: Irish Tea
Maddy Waters & Friends (Madeline Waters, cello)
OPEN
Nothing soothes the soul like a pot of tea and a song around St. Patrick’s Day. Sláinte!

Wednesday, March 14
SPECIALTY TEA: Irish Tea
Jo Morrison, harp & Wayne Morrison, bagpipes
OPEN
Nothing soothes the soul like a pot of tea and a song around St. Patrick’s Day. Sláinte!

Tuesday, March 20
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, March 21
SPECIALTY TEA: Downton Abbey Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN
Raise your pinky and channel your inner countess at this elegant afternoon event.

Saturday, March 24
SPECIALTY TEA: Downton Abbey Tea

Elizabeth Benforado, dulcimer and piano & Jay Benforado, guitar
OPEN
Raise your pinky and channel your inner countess at this elegant afternoon event.

Tuesday, March 27
SPECIALTY TEA: Maryland Day Tea
with special guest Miss Maryland Kathleen Masek

Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wyson, Guitar
OPEN
Pass the Old Bay; it’s Maryland Day! Have a crab cake, hon, and a nice cup of tea.

Wednesday, March 28
Carol Rose Duane, harp & piano
OPEN

Tuesday, April 3
John Dassoulas, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, April 4
SPECIALTY TEA: Asian Tea

Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN
Spice up your day with a flavorful Asian interlude; enjoy food, tea, and music from Japan, China, and Korea.

Tuesday, April 10
SPECIALTY TEA: Japanese Tea

Washington Toho Koto Society
OPEN
Celebrate DC’s springtime traditions of cherry blossoms, koto music, and Japanese tea.

Wednesday, April 11
Fran Hrastar, piano
OPEN

Saturday, April 14
Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN

Tuesday, April 17
SPECIALTY TEA: Israeli Tea
Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN
Savor the flavor of Israel at a tea that features your favorite foods and traditional music.

Wednesday, April 18
Becky Dukes, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, April 24
Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer; Paul Oorts, harp guitar & Sophie Chang, cello
OPEN

Wednesday, April 25
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Tuesday, May 1
Ellen Tennenbaum, piano
OPEN

Wednesday, May 2
Meg Baker, harp & piano
OPEN

Tuesday, May 8
Noreen Friedman, flute & Bob Wysong, guitar
OPEN

Wednesday, May 9
SPECIALTY TEA: Mother's Day Tea

Susan Bour, flute & Phil Bour, guitar
OPEN

Saturday, May 12
SPECIALTY TEA: Mother's Day Tea
Elizabeth Benforado, dulcimer & Jay Benforado, guitar
OPEN

Tuesday, May 15
SPECIALTY TEA: Eastern European Tea
Judith Mostyn White, harp
OPEN

Wednesday, May 16
Carol Rose Duane, harp & piano
OPEN

Tuesday, May 22
Karen Ashbrook, dulcimer; Paul Oorts, harp guitar & Carrie Rose, flute
OPEN

Wednesday, May 23
SPECIALTY TEA: Scottish Outlander Tea

OPEN

Tuesday, May 29
Noreen Friedman & Robin Schultz, flute duo
OPEN

Wednesday, May 30
Mike Gold, piano
OPEN

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.

$
$