NatPhil: Gershwin, Price & Beethoven

National Philharmonic Presents

Gershwin, Price & Beethoven


Sat, October 14, 2023 | 7:30pm

$19 - $99

Orch 1 Gershwin Price And Beethoven

The Music Center at Strathmore

Please note this event is not presented by Strathmore and tickets are exempt from Strathmore’s refund/exchange policy.

NatPhil’s 2023-2024 Season begins with a trio of enchanting works conducted by Maestro Piotr Gajewski, transporting listeners from the height of the Jazz Age to a pastoral countryside. Sensational pianist Michelle Cann opens the concert with Rhapsody in Blue, George Gershwin’s iconic fusion of classical and jazz styles, followed by the rich melodies and rhythms of Florence Price’s Piano Concerto in One Movement, which beautifully blends classical and African American musical traditions.  

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6—the “Pastoral Symphony”—celebrates the beauty of the natural world in five movements that usher audiences through the countryside, painting vivid imagery of babbling brooks, a crashing thunderstorm, and the people that coexist with nature.  

Michelle Cann appears by arrangement with the Curtis Institute of Music.