BSO: Wilkins Conducts Florence Price

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Presents:

Wilkins Conducts Florence Price


Sat, June 1, 2024 | 8pm

BSO Thomas Wilkins

The Music Center at Strathmore

Know Before You Go

Plan your visit

Please note this event is not presented by Strathmore and tickets are exempt from Strathmore’s refund/exchange policy.

Ninety years after Florence Price became the first Black woman to have a symphony played by a major orchestra, her Symphony No. 1 still stands out as a marvel of American identity in how it reflects the musical traditions of enslaved and native populations. This program kicks off with dances rooted in the folksongs of Hungary, and it features BSO Concertmaster Jonathan Carney performing Bruch’s beloved Violin Concerto No. 1, with its fiery finale channeling the rustic fiddling of central Europe. 

Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Jonathan Carney, violin

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
BRUCH Violin Concerto No. 1
PRICE Symphony No.1