BSO: Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Presents:

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4


Thu, Mar 7, 2024 | 8pm

BSO Tchaikovsky 4

The Music Center at Strathmore

Know Before You Go

Plan your visit

Please note this event is not presented by Strathmore and tickets are exempt from Strathmore’s refund/exchange policy.

Since winning the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition while still a student at the Juilliard School, cellist Zlatomir Fung has vaulted into the elite ranks of international soloists, cultivating “a rich, warm tone, impeccable intonation and thoughtful phrasing” (The Baltimore Sun) that he calls upon in the unusually fluid and sensitive First Cello Concerto by Saint-Saëns. Conductor Ken-David Masur returns with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony—a poignant meditation on fate—along with a touching tribute by the dean of living Japanese composers.

The March 9 concert is a part of the Casual Conversations series. Please note: the program does not  have an intermission.

Ken-David Masur, conductor
Zlatomir Fung, Cello

HOSOKAWA Meditation - to the victims of Tsunami 3.11
SAINT-SAËNS Cello Concerto No.1
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4