Annapolis Symphony Orchestra: Raging Fire

Annapolis Symphony Orchestra presents

Raging Fire


Sun, February 4, 2024 | 3pm

$10 - $69

Annapolis Symphony Orchestra violinist

The Music Center at Strathmore

Please note this event is not presented by Strathmore and tickets are exempt from Strathmore’s refund/exchange policy.

In Masterworks III, the Annapolis Symphony reconnects with the music of Thai composer Narong Prangcharoen. After winning the Annapolis Symphony’s Annapolis Charter 300 Young Composers Competition in 2008, Prangcharoen has made a name for himself on the international stage and in his homeland of Thailand. 

Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto in D minor, originally composed in 1904 and revised in 1905, is the only concerto by the great and prolific composer. Born in Finland in 1865, Sibelius is widely regarded as his country’s greatest composer and his music is often credited with having helped Finland develop a national identity during its struggle for independence from Russia. Soloist Elissa Lee Koljonen, with some Finnish heritage of her own, will join the ASO as guest violinist.  

Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, also known as the Pathétique Symphony, is Tchaikovsky’s final completed symphony, written between February and the end of August 1893. Tchaikovsky described the composition in letters as “the best thing I ever composed or shall compose.” Noted by ASO musicians as one of their favorite pieces to play, the excitement, drama, and hyper-romantic melodies make “Pathétique” a real treat for audiences. Learn more about the music on the ASO website