National Philharmonic: Spirited Brahms

Saturday, March 17, 2018, 8pm

Sunday, March 18, 2018, 3pm

The Music Center

National Philharmonic:
Spirited Brahms

SATURDAY & SUNDAY: Member Encore Q&A
SUNDAY ONLY: Meet the Instruments, 2-2:30pm

Melissa White, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor 

Brahms   Violin Concerto in D Major
Symphony No. 4 in E minor

Sphinx Competition winner Melissa White plays Brahms’ magnificent and virtuosic  Violin Concerto, one of the summits of the violin repertoire. Composer and violinist  Henryk Wieniawski called the work "unplayable," and violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate refused to play it. The Symphony No. 4, written while Brahms vacationed in a mountain retreat in 1884, is one of the composer’s greatest masterpieces.

Sphinx Competition winner violinist Melissa White is "bringing a new attitude to classical music, one that is fresh, bracing and intelligent." - The Cincinnati Inquirer

Support the National Philharmonic
Donations to support the National Philharmonic can be made here. Thank you for your gift!

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Melissa White