National Philharmonic: Music That Celebrates Home

Sunday, January 31, 2021, 2pm


National Philharmonic Presents:
Music That Celebrates Home
Streamed Concert

A blend of local and international composers expressing the strength of home articulate the power of where you are, the acceptance and importance of now, and the value of nature as part of daily life. In particular, Caroline Shaw’s Plan and Elevation: The Grounds of Dumbarton Oaks asks the audience to gather in celebration of the treasured DC gardens and consider the landscapes that bring beauty to their own lives. With Metamorphosis II, Philip Glass reminds us that home is always inside us and is a place of safety we should always feel welcome. As Buckeroo Banzai would say, “No matter where you go, there you are." 

Laura Colgate, violin
Regino Madrid, violin
Bill Neri, viola
Lori Barnet, cello
Elizabeth Hill, piano

Alexandra Gardner, Coyote Turns: I. openings
Philip Glass, Metamorphosis II arranged by Michael Riesman for violin and piano
Adolphus Hailstork, String Quartet No. 1 - II. Adagio 
Caroline Shaw, Plan & Elevation: The Grounds of Dumbarton Oaks

  1. The Ellipse
  2. The Cutting Garden
  3. The Herbaceous Border 
  4. The Orangery 
  5. The Beech Tree

Cécile Chaminade, Sérénade Espagnole, Op. 150 arranged by Fritz Kreisler for cello and piano
Harold Arlen, Somewhere over the Rainbow arranged for violin and piano

This concert is not presented by Strathmore

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.