Strathmore’s venues are currently closed. Please see our official update on our homepage and see individual event pages for cancellations.


National Philharmonic: Bernstein & Beethoven Part I

Saturday, May 11, 2019, 8pm

The Music Center

National Philharmonic
Torments & Triumph:
Bernstein & Beethoven Part I

Member Encore Q&A

Michael Brown, piano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Bernstein         Symphony No. 2 (“The Age of Anxiety”)
Beethoven       Symphony No. 5 in C minor

Come hear perhaps the most famous work by Beethoven--his four-note wonder, the iconic Symphony No. 5. This famous four-note opening, known as the "fate" motive, has been used in popular culture, movies and TV.  Written when Beethoven was slowly becoming deaf and more isolated, this bold and heroic work is a personal narrative of the triumph of the human spirit. 

Also on the program is Bernstein's Symphony No. 2 ("The Age of Anxiety") with acclaimed pianist Michael Brown. Bernstein’s reaction to the 1948 Pulitzer Prize winning book The Age of Anxiety, by W.H. Auden, inspired him to create his majestic Symphony No. 2, a work of innovative structure (the inclusion of piano solo), and powerful theatricality.

Pianist Michael Brown is “one of the leaders in the current renaissance of performers-composers.” — New York Times

Support the National Philharmonic
Donations to support the National Philharmonic can be made here. Thank you for your gift!

Bernstein & Beethoven