BSO: Tchaikovsky's Vivid Virtuosity

Saturday, January 20, 2018, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra:
Tchaikovsky's Vivid Virtuosity

Marin Alsop, Music Director 
Gabriela Montero, piano

Bartók // Concerto for Orchestra  
Tchaikovsky // Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor 

Revered pianist Gabriela Montero returns for Tchaikovsky’s virtusotic Piano Concerto No. 1. “[She] has everything: crackling rhythmic brio, subtle shadings, steely power… and, best of all, unsentimental expressivity” (The New York Times). Bartók combines his love of folk music with traditional classical forms and paints a picture with his Concerto for Orchestra, an innovative piece that pops with vivid colors. 

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Gabriela Montero

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.