BSO: Tchaikovsky Thrill Ride

Thursday, September 14, 2017, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra:
Tchaikovsky Thrill Ride

Marin AlsopMusic Director
Łukasz Kuropaczewski, guitar

John Adams // Short Ride in a Fast Machine 
John Adams // Lola Montez Does the Spider Dance (East Coast Premiere)
Rodrigo // Concierto de Aranjuez 
Tchaikovsky // Symphony No. 5 in E Minor 

This signature program opens with two short, fiery works by John Adams, including the East Coast Premiere of Lola Montez, dedicated to Maestra Alsop. The thrill ride continues with Łukasz Kuropaczewski’s performance of Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, one of the most popular works of the classical guitar repertoire. The program culminates with Tchaikovsky’s powerful Symphony No. 5. 

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Łukasz Kuropaczewski

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.