BSO: Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Saturday, September 28, 2019, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

The power of fate and destiny loom over the season-opening concert, beginning dramatically with the overture to Verdi’s La forza del destino, an opera about ill-fated lovers who seek atonement in a monastery for their forbidden affair. At the centerpiece is the kinetic Voodoo Violin Concerto by cross-over violinist/composer Daniel Bernard Roumain, making his BSO debut with his unique blend of violin and urban sounds. Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony ends the concert with an explosion of joyful abandon.

Marin Alsop, conductor
Daniel Bernard Roumain, violin

VERDI La forza del destino Overture 
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4 

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

BSO Tchaikovsky

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.