BSO: Pictures at an Exhibition

Saturday, February 17, 2018, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra:
Pictures at an Exhibition

Nicholas HershAssociate Conductor
Joyce Yang, piano

Price // Dances in the Canebrakes
Prokofiev // Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major
Mussorgsky/Ravel // Pictures at an Exhibition

There are few pieces of music as visually evocative as Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. Written in memory of artist Viktor Hartmann, the piece is a musical depiction of an art exhibition. Composer Florence Price was the first African American female recognized as a symphonic composer and the first to have a work premiered by a major symphony orchestra. Witness Joyce Yang push the piano to its limits with her performance of Prokofiev’s colorful Piano Concerto No. 3. 

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Joyce Yang

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.