BSO: Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 4

Saturday, February 25, 2017, 8pm

The Music Center

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra:
Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 4

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Henning Kraggerud, violin

Rameau: Suite from Dardanus
Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 
Schubert: Overture in the Italian Style 
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 “Italian” 

Baroque and early Classical expert Nicholas McGegan brings his infectious enthusiasm to a light and buoyant program. 18th century delights by Mozart, who composed his youthful Violin Concerto No. 3 when he was only 19, and Rameau prepare the way for early 19th century classics by Schubert and Mendelssohn. Both young composers in their early 20s found inspiration from the beauty, art, vitality and happiness of Italy. Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud makes a welcome return as concerto soloist.

This concert is not presented by Strathmore.

Support Strathmore

We rely on charitable gifts from individuals to sustain and expand our visual and performing arts experiences and arts education programs. Your gift will foster incredible social impact by allowing Strathmore to remain a strong and vibrant resource in your community.

Make a membership gift here.