Strathmore Sign In eMail Page Printable Page
Gift Certificates
Facility Rentals
Contact Us
Resident Partners
Search Our Site

National Philharmonic: Beethoven, Haydn & Mozart
Saturday, January 7, 2012 at 8:00 PM
Music Center at Strathmore

Back to Calendar
Group Tickets Call (301) 581-5199
Accessible Seating Call (301) 581-5100

Piotr Gajewski, conductor
Zuill Bailey, cello

Written when the composer was completely deaf, Beethoven's Grosse Fuge is a fiercely powerful and introspective work. Haydn's Cello Concerto No. 1, to be performed by premier cellist Zuill Bailey, was unknown for about two hundred years until its rediscovery in 1961. As one of his early works, it showcases the young Haydn as a master of instrumental writing. In 1788, when Mozart wrote his last symphony, the lofty and revolutionary Symphony No. 41 ("Jupiter"), he was living a precarious life in Vienna. Even though under the strain of debt, Mozart did not allow his personal struggles to interfere with the noble treatment he gave to this triumphant work.

Grosse Fuge, Op. 133
Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Major
Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K. 551 ("Jupiter")

ALL Kids, ALL Free, ALL the Time
Young people age 7-17 attend all National Philharmonic concerts at the Music Center at Strathmore free of charge, making it easy for families to go to concerts together and for young adults to attend a live classical music performance with friends. KIDS FREE tickets may be obtained IN PERSON at the Strathmore Ticket Office or BY PHONE at (301) 581-5100.

PLEASE NOTE: KIDS FREE tickets cannot be ordered online. Refunds will not be issued for tickets purchased online for children ages 7-17.

home | about strathmore | events & tickets | fine art & exhibitions | plan your visit | support | help & faq | privacy policy | contact us | site map
© 2015 Strathmore. All Rights Reserved.
Strathmore Help & FAQ View My Order Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map BSO at Strathmore Founding Partner National Philharmonic Washington Performing Arts Levine Music CityDance Ensemble Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras InterPLAY