Strathmore Sign In eMail Page Printable Page
Gift Certificates
Facility Rentals
Contact Us
Resident Partners
Search Our Site

BSO: Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto
Saturday, December 30, 1899 at 12:00 AM

Back to Calendar
Group Tickets Call (301) 581-5199
Accessible Seating Call (301) 581-5100

Günther Herbig, conductor
Tianwa Yang, violin

BSO favorite and one of the great conductors of our time, Günther Herbig, introduces young Taiwanese virtuoso Tianwa Yang who is making her BSO debut in Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a work of great inner beauty clothed in a passionate, fiery exterior. The program also features the exquisite fairy tale-based Mother Goose Suite by French composer Maurice Ravel and Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony that was creatively motivated by the death of Stalin.

Ma mère l’oye (Mother Goose) Suite
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

Attend a FREE pre-concert lecture with WETA’s David Ginder before every Classical Thursday event at Strathmore. Music Notes LIVE! begins at 7PM. No reservations are required but capacity is limited, so patrons will be admitted on a first-come, first-served basis. Click here for full details.

home | about strathmore | events & tickets | fine art & exhibitions | plan your visit | support | help & faq | privacy policy | contact us | site map
© 2015 Strathmore. All Rights Reserved.
Strathmore Help & FAQ View My Order Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map BSO at Strathmore Founding Partner National Philharmonic Washington Performing Arts Levine Music CityDance Ensemble Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras InterPLAY