Strathmore Sign In eMail Page Printable Page
Gift Certificates
Facility Rentals
Contact Us
Resident Partners
Search Our Site

National Philharmonic: Mahler's Resurrection
National Philharmonic
Saturday, October 9, 2010 at 8:00 PM
Music Center at Strathmore

Back to Calendar

Iwona Sobotka, soprano
Magdalena Wór, mezzo-soprano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

The late Washington composer Andreas Makris reflects on his Greek origins in the Aegean Festival Overture, which blends classic form and folklore elements. The rarely performed A Sorrowful Tale by Polish composer Mieczyslaw Karlowicz (1876-1909) is a somber symphonic tone poem offset by recollections of happier times. Finally, one of Mahler’s most popular works, Symphony No. 2, presents the composer’s meditations on afterlife and resurrection.

MAKRIS Aegean Festival Overture
KARLOWICZ A Sorrowful Tale
MAHLER Symphony No. 2 in C minor “Resurrection"

National Philharmonic kids free tickets are not available online, please call the ticket office at 301-581-5100 for kids free tickets.

home | about strathmore | events & tickets | fine art & exhibitions | plan your visit | support | help & faq | privacy policy | contact us | site map
© 2015 Strathmore. All Rights Reserved.
Strathmore Help & FAQ View My Order Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map BSO at Strathmore Founding Partner National Philharmonic Washington Performing Arts Levine Music CityDance Ensemble Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras InterPLAY